Trusses

July 8, 2012 § Leave a comment

So recently we learned about statics in engineering. That means we were taught about how forces interact within a static structure. Then we were assigned homework on trusses made of spaghetti. Really tedious work, since it involved three dimensional vector projection, buckling, and tensile forces. Spent five hours on the one problem. Pissed me off so much, since I should have been able to do it within an hour, except I didn’t like the work, and basically did not want to put my mind into imagining three dimensional structures in my head. It’s not hard, I just didn’t like how much work I needed to put into it, and so I was lazy and spent most of my time lazing around and chatting with other people. Also tried to teach others WHILE I was doing the problem, which made it even harder since I had to talk through my work while I was developing the solution in my head. The problem should have spent one hour at most. And now, I need to work on the two other projects we have (read: watch another hour or two or twenty of video on YouTube).

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trusses at Scattered Thoug...What?.

meta